Discussion: Do You Feel Pressured to Read Hyped Books?

Read at Midnight

discussion-post-2

“If you only read the books that everyone else is reading, you can only think what everyone else is thinking.”
― Haruki Murakami, Norwegian Wood.

I’ve only been blogging for a little over a month, but I’m already feeling though my reading list is whittled down to books I’ve seen on other people’s blogs.  Naturally, that means I primarily read very hyped books. It’s easy to see the trickle down effect:  publishers send out their most promising releases to big name bloggers, whose excitement is so infectious it has me piling the shopping cart with orders.  While this is absolutely awesome as I’ve discovered so many titles I love this way, it also make me want to take a step back and ask: should I try and give other books a chance? I’ll weigh the pro’s and cons of reading these popular titles below.

yay

The awesome reasons why I can’t help but…

View original post 538 more words

Leave a Reply

