Stationary Cycle

Assalamualaikum, May peace be upon you.

It is quite ludicrous that I have spent many nights through December, January and February coaxing words out and making them look presentable and yet all the attempts ends with unfinished introductions and half-baked ideas. Absurd, yet not unfamiliar. With 8 years of written trivial reverie, surely I have a solution by now? Alas, I have yet to prevail.

I had plans for this specific post. The “Welcome to 2016”. Sadly, I assume that the strive for structure and cookie-cutter was what held me back in the first place. Delaying it was distressing and pursuing the notion was awaking the thunderous waves within. Caught midway again – suspended in ceaseless static motion. A Stationary Cycle.

I have always been an emotional writer – but aren’t we all? Nevertheless, with an unknowing mind, I endeavour.

A pithy rundown of the winter tracks; the blurred and the frozen, the reflection and the scenes, the chill and warmth of December all through February.

File 2-9-16, 9 41 08 PM.jpeg

The expectations I had for December were mostly realised: made family during LESTARI, caught a plane to South Korea, quenched my thirst for fiction and kinsfolk. I have written them under the series “Back to December” in which you can access here.

Alhamdulillah thumma Alhamdulillah. Regardless of the melancholic disposition of this piece, I praise and thank Him for 2015 and for His endless blessings that includes these steps into 2 0 1 6.

The year so far is of sanguine dreams and restless clouds of impending disappointment. I am either too positive or the other way around. Preparations for mirages cementing castles in the skies, only the perpetual pull of gravity is my anchor to actuality.

Effort, effort, effort. I cannot be Walter Mitty forever.

Leave a Reply

