law of tawfeeq

Midnight Blues

One of my biggest life lessons was learning the concept of tawfeeq.

Ibn al-Qayyim is my kindred spirit, fo real. Just thinking about his books make my thoughts pause. He’s been one of my biggest influences on my writing, and it goes back to his book al-Fawaaid. Before I learnt Arabic, I had read translated excerpts here and there but it wasn’t until much later that I realized how much of the beauty was stripped in translation.

His book al-Fawaaid is like his Twitter page if he were alive today; bite-sized thoughts of reflection and wondrous observations. In it, he’s written quite a lot about tawfeeq, which essentially entails Allaah facilitating or paving the way for one, to success or attainment of goals.


He explains that unless Allaah wills for something to happen, it just won’t happen, regardless of how much effort one puts into doing something. And just…

View original post 546 more words

Leave a Reply

